Guilty of Being Great

Posted on April 19, 2011 by

0




The Barry Bonds trial is over as the former San Francisco Giant slugger was found guilty on obstruction of justice charges. All charges of perjury were dropped as the prosecution failed to prove that Bonds knowingly took steroids. As a Giants fan, I am happy that the trial is over with and that we can all move on with the great game of baseball (I don’t care about Clemens). I am also quite happy with the verdict. I did not want to see the guy that I cheered for and bowed to during my childhood and into my high school years end up serving time behind bars for lying to the grand jury. No matter what Barry did, knowingly or unknowingly, he will always be the greatest baseball player to ever play the game in my eyes.

Barry Bonds brought so much joy to my life on a routine basis, simply by hitting a baseball as far as he possibly could and trotting around the bases. His homeruns were heart-stopping moments that made my peers and I lose our voices and jump for joy. The majority of the 756sports staff was in attendance when Bonds hit homerun #756, the homerun that broke Hank Aaron’s record and for which we named our site after. This homerun was one of the most memorable sports moments of my life and I got to spend it with a group of my best friends standing in a packed Pacbell ballpark watching it all go down.

Bonds’ record-breaking numbers will always be tainted in the eyes of many, especially those outside the Bay Area. His fame will have an asterisk next to it and his credentials as a ballplayer will always be scrutinized and put under a microscope. Before Bonds’ 73 homerun season that broke the single-season record in 2001, Mark McGuire and Sammy Sosa put on a show as they chased down Maris’ original record and both broke it. Sosa, McGuire and a great majority of baseball players during that era used PEDs to make themselves better. It makes me upset that Bonds is used as the scapegoat for the MLB’s steroid era, simply because he came out of it on top. His numbers were better, so therefore he is a liar and should be condemned. This is no way to treat a human being.

Before his monstrous season in 2001, Barry hit 494 homeruns, had 1,967 RBIs, stole 471 bases, and won 3 MVP awards in 15 major league seasons. He is the ONLY member of baseball’s 400-400 and 500-500 club (over 500 HRs and stolen bases). He then added 268 homers, 591 RBIs and 4 more MVP awards in his final 7 seasons. Even if Barry’s last 7 seasons are marred with steroid controversy, he still deserves to be a Hall of Famer.

You can hate him or love him and I choose to love him. Barry Bonds will forever go down in Giants history as a legend and I will always keep his homeruns close to my heart. The jury has spoken and now we can move on with the Giants as World Series Champs and Barry Bonds as one of the best baseball players of all time. Thank you for the memories, Barry.

-Hutch

Posted in: Giants, MLB